On Bad Cons & How You Kill An Event in Advance

I’ve attended a lot of cons in my 50+ years on this earth. Most of them up in Canada and a few down here in the US and I’ve seen them come and go, some swallowed up by larger cons and others… just fading away.
Wise words to those attending conventions and those working on the organizing committees for any convention. Stop, look around and see if you’re the problem, not the solution.

Mikki Kendall

So, I wasn’t going to bother with a formal response about the events at ConQuest. I’ve never been, I probably won’t be going either. Not just because of the most recent hot mess, but because overwhelmingly con culture is a hot mess. And yeah, some people are trying to fix it. But as I watch people attempt to defend white women sexually harassing men of color…I feel like we’ve hit a point that demands an honest conversation about what’s really happening to cons. It’s not the aging of fandom (young fans are created every day, and I promise you they love to get together), it’s not political correctness run amok (hi, taking off your pants and rubbing against people without consent isn’t okay, neither is referring to Black people as sexy chocolate and licking your lips), it’s a fundamental belief that marginalized people don’t have a right to be treated…

View original post 652 more words

Leave a Reply

