Do you.. haiku? And would you, could you?

I’ve always loved poetry, right back to when I had to memorize “Jabberwocky” and perform it for my Theater Arts class. And believe me, it’s a mouthful!

And getting poetry published is darned hard – I have managed to sell a few pieces here and there, but for the most part it’s been a rough go of it. But I do love haiku and if you’re looking for a wonderful way to get into poetry, may I suggest haiku?

Here’s one of the most famous ones, from Basho – translated from the original Japanese, so there is some difference between translations but you’ll get the idea..

The old pond;
A frog jumps in —
The sound of the water.

(Robert Aitken)

I think it’s an excellent example of what haiku is all about – you instantly imagine the pond, see the frog and create the sound in your mind – and it’s done!

Often I try to apply the same technique to my writing – I don’t have to describe every aspect of a room to fill the reader’s imagination – sometimes a few words, carefully placed, can deliver more than line upon line of description!

I sold this one to Scifaikufest Magazine in 2009:
History Lesson

painted faces glare
stabbing at empty spacesuits
our descendants scream.
And this one to NiteBlade Magazine the same year:

Spacewalk

Raindrops
run
across
the inside
of my helmet
I dream of dry land.

If you’ve never read or consider writing poetry, why not take a look at haiku and see if it’s for you? It doesn’t take a long time to compose and can really clear your mind for a few minutes – I find it a great break from writing!

And don’t forget to enter the Goodreads giveaway – I’m handing out FIVE paperback copies of “Strictly Business” and I’ll ship them anywhere in the world! Come on and click the link below and get into the drawing!

Goodreads Book Giveaway

Strictly Business by Sheryl Nantus

Strictly Business

by Sheryl Nantus

Giveaway ends October 14, 2015.

See the giveaway details
at Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

