“Claws Bared” excerpt!

ClawsBaredFinalWe’re right on the edge of the release date for “Claws Bared“, book two in the “Blood of the Pride” series!

Here’s a little tidbit to get your mouth watering for this next episode with Reb and Bran!

*****

The bar door opened.

A man walked in and headed for the bar, strong hard strides across the hardwood floor in work boots that had seen better days.

He slid onto the stool beside me, his Felis scent splashing everywhere. Tall, blond and about five years younger than I was.

One finger went up, getting the bartender’s attention immediately. “Red Rock.”

He turned toward me and smiled, deep blue eyes daring me to fall into them.

I felt like I’d been punched in the chest. Felis may not technically be cats but we sure as hell could be cougars.

“Trace Bryson.” He held out his hand.

I took it, relishing the cool thrill running over my skin before reality chased it away. It wasn’t a coincidence he’d walked in here and sat next to me.

“Green truck?”

He slipped his hand out of mine, the calloused fingers falling away.
“Yep. That’s mine.”

His beer arrived just in time to let him stall for a second to sip the cool brew.

I allowed myself a scowl. “My shadow.”

He took another mouthful and swirled it around, thin lips curving into a smile. “Yep.”

I sipped my coffee. “If I told you to go to hell would it make a difference?”

He shook his head. His blond hair was just long enough for a woman to get a good grip.

“I hate to tell a beautiful lady like yourself ‘no,’ but…” He spread his hands. “You wouldn’t want me to get into trouble with my uncle, right?”

My heart sank. “McCallum.”

Trace smiled, showing bright white teeth. “Yep.” His tongue flicked out and ran over his lower lip. “Gotta do what the Board says.”

“That’s really beginning to annoy me,” I growled. “So what are your orders?”

He leaned back, the well-worn jean shirt tight on his frame. “Follow, watch, seduce… Oh, wait, I wasn’t supposed to say that one out loud.”

I didn’t smile.

**********

“Claws Bared” comes out on January 21st but you can pre-order it here at Amazon and here at B&N – along with, of course, Carina Press!

And if you haven’t picked up “Blood“… come on over and take a look!

One thought on ““Claws Bared” excerpt!

Leave a Reply

