Author, Unplugged

While I was up in Canada taking care of my mother I was unable to be online – in a nutshell, there were no free wi-fi connections until I dashed down to Toronto for a few hours to visit the World’s Biggest Bookstore (another post there) and visited a Starbuck’s while waiting for a bus.

Wow.

I thought I’d have a big problem staying offline for so long – my hubby, the Wookie, called every night to let me know what was in my inbox so I was sure to not miss anything important (like, say, cover art!) but there was no Twitter, no Facebook, no surfing da web or checking sales.

I didn’t miss it a bit.

Granted, I was busy taking care of family but even during the quiet times I’d curl up with my Nook and read – there was no big withdrawal symptoms where I ran around the neighborhood with my netbook, desperate for a connection. In fact, by the time I got back onto my bus headed to Buffalo and had access to the ‘Net (go Greyhound!) I really had no urge to do much else other than check my email and turn my netbook off.

Now that I’m back online I don’t know exactly how to feel. Sure, I love having my Twitter and Facebook back but it’s not the same. I’m loving the space between the pages, as it were.

We’ll see if I fall back into my old ways, spending more time Googling my books than writing the next one and fretting over Novelrank sales. But I’m hoping my imposed exile might just make me a better writer, even if it’s at the expense of my online activities.

I’ve read articles about teachers asking their students to go ‘Net-free for a week or two – do you think you could do it? Do you think anyone should?

*wanders off to make more tea*

 

4 thoughts on “Author, Unplugged

  1. Sometimes being free of distractions can be reinvigorating. It allows the mind to settle and focus in the quiet calm. That being said, I do not know if I could go net-free for a day or week or month. Honestly, I doubt that I would miss anything important coming my way. However, I would miss out on a lot of the conversations that go on. I am isolated by location from friends or like-minded individuals so I depend on the internet for that interaction.

    • I was really surprised how easily I managed to unplug. I don’t have a smartphone so I didn’t have access to *anything* – but as long as I had my Nook I had some sort of distraction for the quiet times.

      i’m “out in the country” as well so I thought I’d go crazy without the ‘net – however, my mother’s apt. overlooking the “main drag” in her town so I watched people walk up and down the street, watched ambulances and fire trucks roll out from the nearby firehouse and just plain old people-watched. It was quite refreshing.

      Of course I’d have gone nuts without checking in each night to see if any important emails had come in – which I’m grateful to my hubby for doing. But it really struck home to me how much of the “social media networking” really isn’t part of my lifestyle. I like it, yes – but need it? Not so much now…

      However, I missed my Keurig something awful!

      XD

      • Good coffee, that would be worth a fair hike. Where I live is a river valley, and lots of wildlife to check out (birds mostly, the occasional bear.) I have shied away from social sites like Facebook for quite a while, but I contemplate their use if I ever manage to start publishing work as another means to reach out to readers. Though the argument could be made for keeping my ‘net footprint small, not diffused over a number of locations. Great post, Thanks!

Leave a Reply

