The Ramblings of a Friday Chocoholic…

Just finished the B-day chocolate pastry my hubby bought me last night at Panera and now I’m hyped up on chocolate and tea! Yay!

So, I rambleth for you in a relatively coherent form.

Because. I. Can.

*snorgles*

First, still loving the Nook after two weeks with it. Every Friday I’m getting a free ebook. Today it’s a Debbie Macomber book, “The Shop on Blossom Street”, the first in a series. Now, I know it’s a deliberate ploy to introduce me to the series and make me want to buy the others, but I’m game. Last week it was an old L.Ron Hubbard book, week before that “The Incumbent” by some other author. And I think it’s a great idea. I also picked up “The Chicago Way” for $1.99 on sale. I can’t even get the paperback, if it were out in paperback, for that!

So, still loving it. Although I could do without the Sudoku and web browser. Really.

Did 2000+ words yesterday on “Blaze of Glory 2: Monsters Within, Heroes Without”. A romping sequel, or at least I’m hoping it’ll be. Right now the sales look good for the original, although I won’t really know until next week when the royalties come in. And that’ll only be for the ten days that it’s been on sale in April, so….

BUT I’m finding a world of difference between being published with Samhain and other companies. It seems that there’s just that much more publicity around them just by the name – more customers that equal more sales down the road. According to some figures, the average Samhain book sells 200+ copies in the first month. I’m hoping for that, but we’ll see. I’m hoping that if people enjoy “Iron Man” and the current superhero genre, they’ll grab a copy and see how it goes. AND, with Samhain pricing much, MUCH lower than some of the other big names, I’m thinking that more readers will give me a chance. Heck, it’s the price of a cuppa joe!

And the print version will be out in 2011. Can’t wait to go into my local B&N and see it there!

😀

Waiting on the first round of edits for “Wild Cards and Iron Horses”. I’m dying to get some cover art for it; I’m hoping that Kanaxa will be on the case. She did such a faboo job with BoG that I’d love to see what she’d come up with.

Thanks, all, for the great birthday wishes. Twenty-one years ago I came home from work to find that my paternal grandfather had died, at home, peacefully as he had wanted. He’d had a horrible genetic disease that had him wasting away for over five years and my grandmother and I had nursed him at home for the last year of his life, making him as comfortable as possible. He had been a VP at Phillips/Marconi and an avid golfer. An engineer originally from the University of Alberta, he was a darned smart man who valued education for all of us and I know it killed him towards the end to be so helpless, lying in a hospital bed in his own house with his wife and granddaughter feeding him soft-boiled eggs and tending to his needs.

I knew he had died because I walked up the street to the house and saw both my parents’ cars there. Since they had divorced decades earlier and avoided each other’s company I knew it had to be something bad to get them both together.

So, yeah. I knew.

Since then I don’t really do birthdays much. But it’s been a relatively good one this year and for that, I thank everyone who sent along wishes.

And Samhain who sent me a birthday card. Me! Schmucky the author!

*laughs*

Now, back to work before the choco high goes awaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa………….

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

2 thoughts on “The Ramblings of a Friday Chocoholic…

  1. Hi Sheryl,
    For some reason I can’t email you from my computer – damn laptop – anyway – finally managed to grab a moment or two or three to read Blaze of Glory – thank you again for the freebie!! – what a ride!! All action, and so well written. Tight prose and a great imagination make this a really fun book!! Thanks again for the chance to read it. I wish you many sales!!
    best wishes
    barbara

Leave a Reply

