What’s bugging me today…

“Editors” who brag about the reaction their rejection letters have on people. I know it’s childish for an author to post the rejection and then rant, but “editors” who then point at it and laugh – annoying, unprofessional, imo.

“Authors” who complain about losing their “voice” if they subject their golden words to an editor. The editor is there to make the story better, and if it means pointing out huge plot flaws that need to be fixed, well… that’s his/her job! Contrary to some beliefs, the editor will not destroy the story to make it “fit” into the publisher’s vision. She/he’ll talk to the author, work with the author and try to “make it work”. But they’re not going to buy the story in the first place if it’s not compatible with what the company’s looking for. Golden Word Syndrome bugs me. A lot.

“Authors” who claim it’s all for the “art”, thus they go to self-publishing. See above. Because, you know, no one can do their vision justice except for them. And the people they pay to do the art, the editing and promotion. If it’s “art”, then why are you trying to sell it?

“Publishers” who keep selling ebooks long after the rights for same have been returned. It’s an EBOOK, dudes… I know the paperbacks may still be out there via secondary markets, but there’s no reason for the EBOOK to still be available. At least, I can’t think of one.

Free does NOT equal Good. Holds true for ebooks as well.

Decaf Chai tea.

Ugly surgery scars. I wasn’t a bikini model beforehand, but sheesh… do I need to scare myself every time I look down?

Thank you for listening. Each of you will receive one million good karma points. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “What’s bugging me today…

  1. I’ve spoken to a lot of “authors” who have Golden Word Syndrome, and I actually spoke to a writer today who’s turning to self-publishing for the same annoying reason you mentioned. xD
    I appreciate hearing I’m not the only one.
    (And Decaf Chai Tea is only bearable with a LOT of milk to mask the taste.)

    • I just get annoyed when authors make it sound like editors are all out to get them. I’ve had good editors and I’ve had BAD editors, but I’ve never thought that they were out to “destroy my vision” or whatever passes for an excuse these days. They’re there to make the story BETTER!

      Thanks for the seconding on the Decaf Chai and for stopping by!

      😀

Leave a Reply

