Walking through the Self-Pub minefield…

Over the past few days there’s been a snootful of rapid postings over on J.A.Konrath’s blog, specifically over the topic of self-publishing on Kindle. Specifically, the idea that we’re on the edge of the new wave; that if you’re not putting out your work on Kindle and keeping the rights for yourself that you’re missing the Brand New World and that you’re a dinosaur.
Uh… I’m going to disagree with that.
Now, I admit I’m a bit biased. I don’t know a lot about programming and I can’t really be bothered to learn how to put my work into Kindle format – that’s why when I *did* decide to recirculate my older works (reprinted after rights reverted to me) I went to Smashwords and let them handle it.
I’m also one of those writers who would rather, you know, write. I’m not keen on spending hours blogging, spamming and working on cover art, working on printing contracts and then harassing small bookstores to carry my work. That’s what publishers do and I’m happy to leave it to them.
Having said that, I do believe that there are plenty of excellent reasons to self-pub on Kindle. There’s nonfiction and poetry works that wouldn’t get a chance if it weren’t for the Brave New World that Kindle (and other online ebook sites) offer, and I think you’d be a fool to write them all off.
But I have to go with Konrath’s belief that if you *can* get an agent and a mainstream publisher (dismissively called “trad” by some) than you should. I can’t say that I’m upset that Samhain is putting my work out as an ebook and in print early next year because I’ve somehow sold my soul to the publisher
But that’s just me. YMMV.
ramblings over…

Leave a Reply

