Shuffling the stacks…

One of the constants in my household is the stacks of books lying around, read and unread. From the bathroom to the bedroom, there’s always a pile of books either in the process of being read, since I tend to read multiple books at the same time, or having BEEN read, waiting to be filed in the pit that is the book room.

A few months ago we received word that two of our local bookstores were closing, so we of COURSE took advantage of the sales. After all, how could we not?

Stacks. And stacks. And stacks multiply.

I love to grab books on sale that I usually wouldn’t pay full price for. I’ll grab that nonfiction book on math theory, or Mongol history or even that reprint of all the Sherlock Holmes books with the original Strand drawings, just because it’s on sale.

Right now I’m compiling a reader stack of new and old books – I’m going in on March 17th to have my gall bladder removed, so I’m laying out a bunch of books for recuperative reading. I know it’s a 50/50 chance, as I’ll either be too tired and sleep for days or leap back into the re-edits for “Wild Cards and Iron Horses”, but best to be prepped for all and sundry.

In my stack:

“The Court of The Air” by Stephen Hunt
“The Dragon Factory” by Jonathan Maberry
Full-Metal Alchemist manga
“The Art of War for Writers” by James Scott Bell
and probably some writing magazines along the way.

so, let me toss this out – what sort of books do you buy on sale? Does the price change your buying habits? And what sort of rehab books do you leap for when you feel bad?

(totally aside, “Blaze of Glory” is OFF to the reviewers and e-distributors! Only a few more weeks and it’ll be LIVE! Working now on a book trailer and can’t wait!)

4 thoughts on “Shuffling the stacks…

    • thanks – I’m terrified beyond belief because I’m just that sort of wuss about doctors, hospitals and surgery, but… it’s got to be done.
      which doesn’t make it any easier.
      😛
      otoh, at least I’ll be able to read!
      😀

    • thanks – I’m terrified beyond belief because I’m just that sort of wuss about doctors, hospitals and surgery, but… it’s got to be done.
      which doesn’t make it any easier.
      😛
      otoh, at least I’ll be able to read!
      😀

Leave a Reply

