Well, the Nook is out.

And, Lord help me, I’m sorely tempted.

Even though it doesn’t do full color. I do like the idea of not being tied to a single format and that I can take all my PDF and ePub books from my laptop and put them on without anyone running shotgun or paying for it.

I do like the fact that I’ll be able to go to a B&N in a month or so and TOUCH one. Beats the heck out of ordering blind from Amazon. Not to mention that while I like Amazon for some things, the idea of them knowing exactly what I have on my Kindle and the ability to scrub it at a moment’s notice doesn’t sit well.

But the price.

Eep!

Still… we’ll see. I’m liking it so far.

And sweet video!

10 thoughts on “

  1. I think these things are nifty (gadgets! 😀 ) and I’m sure the price will come down eventually…but I can’t help wondering what happens when the format changes? Sooner or later they’ll change the file formats. Will you have to buy all your titles again?

    • well, from what I can see – it allows you to import your old PDF and ePub files, which I have a lot of, into the Nook. I’ll freely admit all of my ebooks to date are the freebies, like the ones Harlequin has given away, because I haven’t had the urge to buy an ebook and then find it’s not transferable to my laptop, etc.
      I’ll probably wait until the New Year to decide if it’s worth getting and if the tax man really likes us enough to warrant it – but it’s definitely a kick in the butt for the Kindle!

  2. I think these things are nifty (gadgets! 😀 ) and I’m sure the price will come down eventually…but I can’t help wondering what happens when the format changes? Sooner or later they’ll change the file formats. Will you have to buy all your titles again?

    • well, from what I can see – it allows you to import your old PDF and ePub files, which I have a lot of, into the Nook. I’ll freely admit all of my ebooks to date are the freebies, like the ones Harlequin has given away, because I haven’t had the urge to buy an ebook and then find it’s not transferable to my laptop, etc.
      I’ll probably wait until the New Year to decide if it’s worth getting and if the tax man really likes us enough to warrant it – but it’s definitely a kick in the butt for the Kindle!

    • AFAIK, and don’t quote me, the ePub is the format used by Adobe Reader and the Adobe Acrobat Edition – their own ebook reader library thang…
      I don’t think it reads text files.
      still gonna fondle it when it shows up at my local B&N.
      😉

    • AFAIK, and don’t quote me, the ePub is the format used by Adobe Reader and the Adobe Acrobat Edition – their own ebook reader library thang…
      I don’t think it reads text files.
      still gonna fondle it when it shows up at my local B&N.
      😉

Leave a Reply

