gaslight fantasy or steampunk?

I’m about 12,000 words into my newest work, something that I *thought* was steampunk but now seems to be a gaslight fantasy.

Definition for gaslight fantasy: Not so technical stuff.

Definitiion for steampunk: VERY technical stuff.

I always find it interesting when a story looks at me and says, "No, you’re not that tech-savvy to do this!" and chugs along in its own path.

Does anyone else have different definitions?

Does it matter?

*curious look*

8 thoughts on “gaslight fantasy or steampunk?

  1. I dunno, but I think you and I are in the same boat. What started with intentions of a steampunk fairy tale retelling is ending up being a historical gaslight fantasy fairy tale retelling.
    But it’s nice to finally have a name for it, so thanks!

  2. I dunno, but I think you and I are in the same boat. What started with intentions of a steampunk fairy tale retelling is ending up being a historical gaslight fantasy fairy tale retelling.
    But it’s nice to finally have a name for it, so thanks!

  3. That is a lot of information tagged as gaslight fantasy. Personally I think the term gaslight fantasy would work best with victorian society crossed with the occult. (With the fantasy version where all sorts of magic is common in society.)
    Probably easy to use the term, but I wonder if any publishing companies are really considering it a genre currently.

  4. That is a lot of information tagged as gaslight fantasy. Personally I think the term gaslight fantasy would work best with victorian society crossed with the occult. (With the fantasy version where all sorts of magic is common in society.)
    Probably easy to use the term, but I wonder if any publishing companies are really considering it a genre currently.

Leave a Reply

