I saw, I touched… I wasn’t impressed.

So over the weekend, the Wookie and myself found ourselves in Best Buy, picking up some ink for the dearly-abused printer and, of course, a copy of Wolverine for our DVD rack.

And just as I was whining about the lack of ebook readers… we tripped across the Sony Ebook reader display. Set, of course, in the middle of the CD area, beside the video game section.

Sigh.

The Pocket version was there, at $199, as well as the Touch version with the larger screen, for $299. So we touched, we poked, we looked at them.

Not. Impressed.

First, the Touch model, which was a wee bit larger by an inch for the screen, seemed to be stuck in the screensaver mode. It wouldn’t go anywhere other than run through the ads, which made us both nervous. How much abuse had this poor thing had since it was installed that it would be broken already?

The Pocket was nice, but we noticed one thing right off the top – the font on the Pocket seemed to be just that little bit clearer than the one flashing by on the Touch model next to it. Hmm… Flipped through some of the books listed; had Hitchhiker’s Guide which looked nice…

Then I looked to one side, and about thirty feet away lay the netbooks.

At less than $300.

Color screen, LARGER screen, keyboard and a full computer.

Hurm.

Along with no worries about compatability, having to deal with a cranky system, and having an object that could only do ONE thing. And that wasn’t even in color…

So, I’m temporarily out of luv with the Sony ebook reader. Nice, but I’m holding out for the Asus EE which appears to be color and have a paperback book format – we’ll see how that goes. And, again, price is the breaker for me. If I can get a netbook for the same price… why would I buy a Kindle/Sony ebook reader/etc…

so it goes…
 

 

2 thoughts on “I saw, I touched… I wasn’t impressed.

  1. Yes.. the readers really need to come down in price before the ebook industry has a chance of succeeding. But then again I am reminded on the numbe rof generations of Ipods before they because common household items.

  2. Yes.. the readers really need to come down in price before the ebook industry has a chance of succeeding. But then again I am reminded on the numbe rof generations of Ipods before they because common household items.

Leave a Reply

