Aha!

A few days ago I wrote about trying out the horror genre, and how I was disappointed upon reading two books from what I was told was one of the Grand Masters of the genre. Not that it was bad writing or anything like that; it was just that it didn’t work for me.

Well, I found a book that does. It did.

Patient Zero, by Jonathan Maberry

Here’s the official blurb:

When you have to kill the same terrorist twice in one week there’s either something wrong with your world or something wrong with your skills… and there’s nothing wrong with Joe Ledger’s skills.  And that’s both a good, and a bad thing.  It’s good because he’s a Baltimore detective that has just been secretly recruited by the government to lead a new taskforce created to deal with the problems that Homeland Security can’t handle. This rapid response group is called the Department of Military Sciences or the DMS for short. It’s bad because his first mission is to help stop a group of terrorists from releasing a dreadful bio-weapon that can turn ordinary people into zombies. The fate of the world hangs in the balance….

Now, I’ll admit that I was a bit intrigued by this book from the cover and the blurb, not to mention having met the author himself at the last Pennwriters Conference, so I figured it’d be worth a look. Unfortunately it arrived after I had already purchased the other two-book series, so it had to wait until the foul taste had washed out of my mouth and I could start this one with a fresh look. Both books involved zombies, which is surprising. Really. NOT.

SO glad I did.

Yes, it’s a zombie book. Yes, it’s a horror book. Yes, it’s a VERY GOOD READ that you’ll enjoy from end to end.

NO, it’s not as gory as you would think. I mean, it’s got zombies, so you know there’s going to be gore, but… this story is so fast-paced that you don’t stop to dwell on it.

Definitely a must-read if you’re looking for something in the horror genre, zombies, or something just out of the ordinary.

Two big dragon claws UP!

10 thoughts on “Aha!

  1. You don’t even WANT to know what my “to read” pile looks like. And we’re not even mentioning the novels I have to edit.
    **sigh**
    Gone are the days when reading was but a simple pastime.

      • I freelance as a genre fiction editor but am also under contract to Lyrical Press, Inc. And, to add to my burden of overwhelming joy, I also edit for a newspaper publisher. Gotta pay the bills.
        You’re more than welcome to ask some questions and I’ll try to answer but please be aware that any answers will constitute my opinion, and there are loads of those flying around the blogosphere.

  2. You don’t even WANT to know what my “to read” pile looks like. And we’re not even mentioning the novels I have to edit.
    **sigh**
    Gone are the days when reading was but a simple pastime.

      • I freelance as a genre fiction editor but am also under contract to Lyrical Press, Inc. And, to add to my burden of overwhelming joy, I also edit for a newspaper publisher. Gotta pay the bills.
        You’re more than welcome to ask some questions and I’ll try to answer but please be aware that any answers will constitute my opinion, and there are loads of those flying around the blogosphere.

Leave a Reply

