Discovering Walt Whitman…

One of the things that always irks me about my supposed-good education is that every once in a while I literally trip over a HUGE gap in my knowledge that must be filled.

Thus, Walt Whitman.

I’ve been spending a lot of time in the Victorian part of Second Life titled Caledon and tripped across the library that has a variety of projects going on – Little Dorrit is the basis of next month’s Book Club and they just started a discussion on Folklore of the British Isles by a Canadian Professor who thrills with her voice.

And, Walt Whitman.

Specifically, "Leaves of Grass", 1855 edition which is to be the topic of discussion for the next few months every Tuesday evening at the Caledon Library. I attended my first meeting last week and was absolutely thrilled/enthralled/terrified at the depth of conversation going on about just the PREFACE to the book.

So I rushed out to me local bookstore and picked up a copy because while I may like ebooks there are just some things that demand paper copy.

Wow.

Just.. wow. I’m not even through the intro and I’m knocked back on me heels.

And a little ticked that while I’ve heard of the man I’ve never really read any of his works. Which punches a hole in my education, as I said before.

But now I’m hanging with peeps who are into it. Along with many other classics that I wouldn’t ever dream of picking up and studying alone.

I *heart* Second Life.

and, hopefully, Whitman.
 

14 thoughts on “Discovering Walt Whitman…

  1. I love “Leaves of Grass.” I also recommend “Out of the Cradle, Endlessly Rocking.” Sometimes when I felt upset and scattered, I’d sit down and read “Leaves of Grass” to calm myself. I strongly recommend picking up a volume of his collected poetry. 🙂

    • I grabbed a HUGE volume from the B&N because there are just some things that don’t work in ebook form… since we’re doing the 1855 edition I’m sure we’ll be talking about how it evolved over the years.
      I’m so looking forward to the discussion group. Between that and Folklore of the British Isles coming up soon as well SL is looking like a great place for dem dere literary folk.
      😀

      • Dem Dere Literary Folk
        Okay, you’ve piqued my interest. Lately I’ve been wishing I knew a book discussion group that might be interested in books I like, and it sounds like a lot is happening on SL. I also love folklore.
        My first question is, how much does SL cost? I’m working a “reduced schedule” at work, so my monthly expenditures are very limited. My second is, do people get together at the same time to discuss subjects? That is, is it more like an LJ forum or a chat room?

      • Re: Dem Dere Literary Folk
        Second Life is FREE – they use Linden Dollars as currency, but you can get by with all the free items offered and if you wish to purchase more Lindens you can – but it’s not mandatory and I’ve done well for months without any money put in from my side. You *can* earn Lindens through various tasks inside SL but you’ll be fine if you just want to grab the freebies and have a good time.
        A quick-start guide is here – http://static-secondlife-com.s3.amazonaws.com/downloads/Second_Life_Quickstart.pdf
        and the main website for SL is here:
        http://secondlife.com/
        it’s more of a chat room where people get together in a virtual room (or library, or nightclub or whatever) and experience things in real time – at that moment when it’s happening, so the text chat is running like crazy as you type in your responses.
        go visit the SL website, download the program, check in and see if it’s something you’re interested in. There’s a very nice “welcome!” area when you first arrive that’ll help you settle in, but after that I do recommend you transport (it’ll show you how to do that!) to Caledon Oxbridge ( http://www.caledonwiki.com/index.php?title=Caledon_Oxbridge) which has a faboo welcoming place and is very, VERY new-visitor friendly.
        I’m in there as Sheryl Skytower, so look me up when you get settled and we’ll get you into the literary scene!
        🙂

  2. I love “Leaves of Grass.” I also recommend “Out of the Cradle, Endlessly Rocking.” Sometimes when I felt upset and scattered, I’d sit down and read “Leaves of Grass” to calm myself. I strongly recommend picking up a volume of his collected poetry. 🙂

    • I grabbed a HUGE volume from the B&N because there are just some things that don’t work in ebook form… since we’re doing the 1855 edition I’m sure we’ll be talking about how it evolved over the years.
      I’m so looking forward to the discussion group. Between that and Folklore of the British Isles coming up soon as well SL is looking like a great place for dem dere literary folk.
      😀

      • Dem Dere Literary Folk
        Okay, you’ve piqued my interest. Lately I’ve been wishing I knew a book discussion group that might be interested in books I like, and it sounds like a lot is happening on SL. I also love folklore.
        My first question is, how much does SL cost? I’m working a “reduced schedule” at work, so my monthly expenditures are very limited. My second is, do people get together at the same time to discuss subjects? That is, is it more like an LJ forum or a chat room?

      • Re: Dem Dere Literary Folk
        Second Life is FREE – they use Linden Dollars as currency, but you can get by with all the free items offered and if you wish to purchase more Lindens you can – but it’s not mandatory and I’ve done well for months without any money put in from my side. You *can* earn Lindens through various tasks inside SL but you’ll be fine if you just want to grab the freebies and have a good time.
        A quick-start guide is here – http://static-secondlife-com.s3.amazonaws.com/downloads/Second_Life_Quickstart.pdf
        and the main website for SL is here:
        http://secondlife.com/
        it’s more of a chat room where people get together in a virtual room (or library, or nightclub or whatever) and experience things in real time – at that moment when it’s happening, so the text chat is running like crazy as you type in your responses.
        go visit the SL website, download the program, check in and see if it’s something you’re interested in. There’s a very nice “welcome!” area when you first arrive that’ll help you settle in, but after that I do recommend you transport (it’ll show you how to do that!) to Caledon Oxbridge ( http://www.caledonwiki.com/index.php?title=Caledon_Oxbridge) which has a faboo welcoming place and is very, VERY new-visitor friendly.
        I’m in there as Sheryl Skytower, so look me up when you get settled and we’ll get you into the literary scene!
        🙂

Leave a Reply

