The Triolet! (what, you’ve never heard of it?)

While thumbing my way through various types of poetry in one of the Second Life Workshops I discovered the Triolet. Basically it’s a rhyming poem with the odd (?) arrangement of

A   
B
a   – Rhymes with 1st line.
A   – Identical to 1st line.   
a   – Rhymes with 1st line.
b   – Rhymes with 2nd line.
A   – Identical to 1st line
B   – Identical to 2nd line.

now it may look simple, but it’s not. Really. And it’s a bit hard to get the rhythm right when you’re not only focusing on rhyming (which most poets these days seem to shy away from ’cause it’s just Not Cool) but also the workings of said poem.

here, for example, is a famous triolet:

Thomas Hardy (1840 – 1928)

How Great My Grief

How great my grief, my joys how few,
Since first it was my fate to know thee!
– Have the slow years not brought to view
How great my grief, my joys how few,
Nor memory shaped old times anew,
    Nor loving-kindness helped to show thee
How great my grief, my joys how few,
    Since first it was my fate to know thee?

so I gave it a shot – check out my St. Patrick’s Day poem over at Associated Content!

and then why not give it a shot?

http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/1528272/pass_the_beer.html?cat=42

and, again… great fun in Second Life!
 

4 thoughts on “The Triolet! (what, you’ve never heard of it?)

  1. Do you have a copy of The Book of Forms: A Handbook of Poetics by Lewis Turco? It’s an excellent source for all kinds of poetic forms, plus a discussion of meter, parallel construction, and all kinds of things. I think you’d really like it.

  2. Do you have a copy of The Book of Forms: A Handbook of Poetics by Lewis Turco? It’s an excellent source for all kinds of poetic forms, plus a discussion of meter, parallel construction, and all kinds of things. I think you’d really like it.

Leave a Reply

