Comic books are NOT for kids anymore…

When I was growing up I thrived on comic books. My grandmother would take me over to Nan Rousseau’s, a family friend, and I’d curl up with a stack of comic books from one of her many children and read until my mind exploded and my grandmother had to cart me back out to the car, half asleep. Those were good days.

When I was older I managed to collect a few here and there, but they soon got too expensive for me to keep up with the storylines. As well, I was getting a little frustrated with the depth of the storylines. I mean, I read comics to ESCAPE, not be reminded about how ‘orrible my life is along the way with death and destruction. Watchmen graphic novel nonwithstanding, of course.

And now this.

Right… so now Batgirl, who I darned well loved because Barbara Gordon kicks butt in a wheelchair as Oracle, is now a foul-mouthed little monster? And we’re PRINTING this for who?

This entire thing wouldn’t have come to light except for the fact that they’re recalling all the issues with the situation above because… get this… the black bars to cover the swearing AREN’T THICK ENOUGH TO HIDE THE WORDS!

Yep, folks… we’re hitting the wall hard on this one. We’ll write cursing like a sailor into the story and then black-bar it out as best as we can.

Here’s some of what’s been blacked out. (WARNING: EXTREMELY FOUL LANGUAGE THAT YOU WOULDN’T WANT YOUR MOTHER, BOSS OR BEST FRIEND TO SEE!)

Now, I’ve always had issues with Frank Miller, the supposed GREAT MAN of comics at present. Didn’t like his Dark Knight, didn’t care for his "300", didn’t think much of his Sin City. I think the man has issues. Lots of them.

But he’s obviously getting approval for this sort of silliness from the higher-up at DC. And, obviously, it’s going through.

But wait! There’s more!

Batgirl and Catwoman… naked in a night-club.

Not Miller, thankfully… but I have to wonder who’s the target audience for this sort of stuff. It ain’t me, a grumpy old broad who doesn’t like to be reminded constantly that superheroines have breasts larger that physically possible for them to stand. Are you really targeting the kids, the next generation with this sort of writing and imagery? Really?

I can’t wait, then, for the Tony Stark/Steve Rogers slash to make it to the trade paperbacks, then. Might as well go all the way and push all those buttons, boyos. What’s left now?

And who’s reading it?

rant endeth.

6 thoughts on “Comic books are NOT for kids anymore…

  1. oh I am right there with you. I don’t know what they are doing, much less thinking-but you know-more and more this is becoming more prevalant and prominent -not just the comics, but the music, the games-it amazes me the level of violence and mysogonist leanings of what is put out right now.

  2. oh I am right there with you. I don’t know what they are doing, much less thinking-but you know-more and more this is becoming more prevalant and prominent -not just the comics, but the music, the games-it amazes me the level of violence and mysogonist leanings of what is put out right now.

Leave a Reply

