free at last…

well, got the splint off of my finger and now it’s into rehab – which, basically, is all about using the darned thing. I’ve still lost a lot of mobility such as being able to curl it right down into my palm but according to Webmd.com it could take up to a year for me to totally regain all of the functions.

it goes without saying that I am NEVER attending another baseball game in person. Ever.

and I’ve been having an interesting time in Second Life – the other day I got to sit and chat with L.A. Banks – yes, THAT author. She popped in for a chat with about five of us and even though I’ve only read one book by the woman it was a Good Thing, if for nothing else than seeing what a workaholic she is. Seriously, she’s doing six books a year. A YEAR! 

eep.

and Saturday night I tripped into a lecture by Michael Stackpole. This guy, if you don’t recognize the man. Done many of my fav books in the Battletech universe and plenty outside of it, as you can tell. I also sat in on a nice poetry reading last night in a sweet virtual cafe and a classical music concert in a Woodstock-like setting performed by one of the locals.

so far, so nice. Especially for the free part.

🙂

and I’m *hearting* the Japanese motif I’m finding in the gardens and the haiku encouragement. Got me a mind to go back to writing poetry and seeing if that’ll sell.

meanwhile, me finger’s throbbing and not in a good way. But at least I’m able to hit the “a” button with a bit more dignity than before.

4 thoughts on “free at last…

  1. Mike Stackpole is the author guest of honor at GenCon and giving a lot of talks on writing, so we’ll see him next week. (I think you’d enjoy that.)

  2. Mike Stackpole is the author guest of honor at GenCon and giving a lot of talks on writing, so we’ll see him next week. (I think you’d enjoy that.)

  3. Were you there when Stackpole spoke at Origins last year? Very cool.
    PS: I’ve give up looking for links on LJ. Please do email me some, and I’ll pass them on to her.
    🙂

  4. Were you there when Stackpole spoke at Origins last year? Very cool.
    PS: I’ve give up looking for links on LJ. Please do email me some, and I’ll pass them on to her.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

