Another reason to give up reading…

 It seems that Orson Scott Card, basically an iconic figure in the world of science-fiction writing, is a bit of an idiot. Please refer to his rantings against homosexuality here.

Jim C. Hines blogged a bit about it here and I have to agree with him – there’s no reason why this sort of hate literature needs to be put out and eagerly jumped on by those who know nothing but what they read – and assume that since Card says it, it MUST be true.

This sort of stuff has been really steaming my clams (to quote the Middleman) for some time now. WHY do we think that our celebrities, our authors and our moviemakers have any more a valid opinion about anything than the person next toyou? Does Paris Hilton REALLY have some major insight that you can’t find in the bottom of a Tim Horton’s box of Timbits? Do I really need to see some sort of political allegory in EVERY film out this year because it’s the Thing To Do? Do I really need to read one more diatribe about how homosexuality is destroying America (and if it is, it’s taking it’s own sweet time…) and have it gain some sort of acceptance because of the Grand Masters of Science Fiction wrote it?

All this does is make me eye Card’s entire body of work with a jaded eye. As it does anyone who proclaims their personal views and assumes that I give a tinker’s damn about it. Write well, write often and I’ll enjoy it. But start spewing hate and you’ll find your books gone from my shelves; I don’t care how famous you think you are.

Guess Card doesn’t believe in Canada either. We’re doing just fine with same-sex marriages; have been for years. And somehow we keep on going…

bah.

 

16 thoughts on “Another reason to give up reading…

  1. I had a friend recommend the Ender series to me, and I liked it, but when I looked for background on the author and found out some of his political views, it really tained his books for me. I just don’t want to associate myself with someone who hates like that, and no matter what he says, spewing that kind of vitriol against an entire subculture is hate.
    So we do what we can by not buying his books. It’s a small gesture, but it’s not nothing.
    And yay for Canada! As a recent visitor of Toronto, I can say, Canada rocks.
    (And hi, by the way. I’m Sara’s friend Meagan.)

    • hey, hello!
      and thanks for commenting – yep, it’s sort of sad when you find a decent author and then this… I know it shouldn’t really affect how you view their works, but it just DOES. I don’t mind what you do in your spare time but if you put your views out there then you reap the whirlwind – especially when they’re so full of hatred as that.
      can I be any MORE Canadian?
      Toronto’s me home town…
      btw, the Barrowman closet clip on your LJ? I’m dying here…
      πŸ˜‰

      • Toronto is awesome. We just up there for Polaris, and we had a great time. Got to see a taping of “Maria”, too, and meet John and everything. I just adore that man. But yeah, so, so gay. Sonny and Cher barbies? WHAT?

  2. I had a friend recommend the Ender series to me, and I liked it, but when I looked for background on the author and found out some of his political views, it really tained his books for me. I just don’t want to associate myself with someone who hates like that, and no matter what he says, spewing that kind of vitriol against an entire subculture is hate.
    So we do what we can by not buying his books. It’s a small gesture, but it’s not nothing.
    And yay for Canada! As a recent visitor of Toronto, I can say, Canada rocks.
    (And hi, by the way. I’m Sara’s friend Meagan.)

    • hey, hello!
      and thanks for commenting – yep, it’s sort of sad when you find a decent author and then this… I know it shouldn’t really affect how you view their works, but it just DOES. I don’t mind what you do in your spare time but if you put your views out there then you reap the whirlwind – especially when they’re so full of hatred as that.
      can I be any MORE Canadian?
      Toronto’s me home town…
      btw, the Barrowman closet clip on your LJ? I’m dying here…
      πŸ˜‰

      • Toronto is awesome. We just up there for Polaris, and we had a great time. Got to see a taping of “Maria”, too, and meet John and everything. I just adore that man. But yeah, so, so gay. Sonny and Cher barbies? WHAT?

  3. What an asshat. Thank you for sharing these links.
    BTW, I have a “Canadians for Obama” button for your mom and an Obama bookmark, but I lost her address. Can you email it to me again?

    • whups… gonna have to get it from her first – we had a computer crash and lost everything.
      d’oh!
      and she’d love the button – have it to you ASAP – drop me a line as well so I can add you back to our address book.
      it sucks trying to rebuild these things.
      and yes, he’s such an asshat.
      πŸ˜›

  4. What an asshat. Thank you for sharing these links.
    BTW, I have a “Canadians for Obama” button for your mom and an Obama bookmark, but I lost her address. Can you email it to me again?

    • whups… gonna have to get it from her first – we had a computer crash and lost everything.
      d’oh!
      and she’d love the button – have it to you ASAP – drop me a line as well so I can add you back to our address book.
      it sucks trying to rebuild these things.
      and yes, he’s such an asshat.
      πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

