Free ebooks sell more books?

Interesting commentary here about the free ebooks that Tor has been giving away.

Me, I’m still in the neutral spot. I’ve become a fan of the Julia Spencer-Fleming series because of the free ebooks from St. Martin’s Press, but I’m not sure if I’m the norm or not when it comes to boosting sales of the sequels or paper versions of the freebies. I guess it’s still coming back around to the problem of an affordable ebook reader that’ll be user-friendly.

Did Tor’s free ebooks affect sales? 

I’ve yet to receive the sales listings on my own book for the ebook sales at Fictionwise, but I don’t think there’ll be much there. I just don’t see ebooks as the real future of publishing until a cheap, user-friendly ebook reader is available to the public. And NO, I don’t mean the Kindle for over three hundred bucks or the Sony ebook reader for just under three hundred. If I can watch movies and television eps on a screen definitely meant to give me a rush into the trifocal stage of my life and that costs less than three hundred dollars, why can’t they come up with a reader for less?

Come on, folks – get a format for everyone to agree on and crank out those readers! I can bet that university students will be thrilled not to mention all of us who just want to read, not spend hours transferring formats and trying to break through security formats.

6 thoughts on “Free ebooks sell more books?

  1. I’m waiting for the inexpensive reader that I can read without eyestrain. Preferably one that reads multiple formats (because it would be nice to read PDFs, too).
    Man, it would be nice to pick up some of the smaller and oh-so-expensive magazines in a less expensive format. I bought a bunch of mags that I pretty much haven’t read since college, and they cost a fortune! Ack!

  2. I’m waiting for the inexpensive reader that I can read without eyestrain. Preferably one that reads multiple formats (because it would be nice to read PDFs, too).
    Man, it would be nice to pick up some of the smaller and oh-so-expensive magazines in a less expensive format. I bought a bunch of mags that I pretty much haven’t read since college, and they cost a fortune! Ack!

  3. Kindle
    I emailed my next door neighbor at work about the free Spencer-Fleming downloads, and she had downloaded them to her Kindle five minutes later. She then bought all four of the remaining books and had read the new one before I, the devoted fan, had opened it (I was eager, but didn’t want it to be over). So SMP got four books out of her, although if she had asked I would have lent her my hardcovers.

    • Re: Kindle
      it’s an excellent series by a first-time author… I can’t wait to see where she goes with it!
      and I’m holding out for the latest in paperback – I usually don’t buy in hardcover out of habit tho the tension’s killing me!
      🙂

  4. Kindle
    I emailed my next door neighbor at work about the free Spencer-Fleming downloads, and she had downloaded them to her Kindle five minutes later. She then bought all four of the remaining books and had read the new one before I, the devoted fan, had opened it (I was eager, but didn’t want it to be over). So SMP got four books out of her, although if she had asked I would have lent her my hardcovers.

    • Re: Kindle
      it’s an excellent series by a first-time author… I can’t wait to see where she goes with it!
      and I’m holding out for the latest in paperback – I usually don’t buy in hardcover out of habit tho the tension’s killing me!
      🙂

Leave a Reply

