The Caffeine Click Test - How Caffeinated Are You?
Created by OnePlusYou – Free Online Dating

*chortles merrily*

on other fronts – April’s going to be a good month. Two booksignings set up, one at South Hills Village and the other at Uniontown Mall – both Borders Express. And already set one more up at B&N in Greensburg; connected on the weekend with Borders and B&N in Monroeville, so hopefully one or both of those will pan out.

I’m still not sold on the “everyone’s buying online!” mantra that other authors keep telling me about. Maybe I’m just a Luddite, but I still prefer to walk into a bookstore, flip through the book itself and gaze at the cover before laying down the cash. Or, if I am buying online, I already know what I want and usually it’s out of print or just rare enough that it’s not worth driving to the bookstore to have them order it in.

*shrugs*

as for the Amazon.com debacle – it doesn’t seem to be affecting my publisher. Although considering how few books I’ve sold through Amazon (see above) I’m not too worried about it. I’d much rather work to get those books onto the shelves into stores and let the public actually SEE it and touch it than hustle for online sales. But that’s me.

🙂

anyone else *not* an online book shopping junkie? Am I just nuts and behind the times? Would you rather buy from a bookstore than shop online?

6 thoughts on “

  1. Since I used to work in bookstores, I do like the bricks and mortar feel. When I lived in Detroit, I would go to several of them, because driving 20 minutes in Detroit felt normal.
    Out here in Shoreline, CT, driving 20 minutes to a half hour (and often longer) to get to a bookstore just isn’t as much fun. I’ll still go to bookstores when we’re traveling, or when they’re convenient, or when there’s an author signing… but in general, I’ll order online. Generally not amazon, though I have in the past checked them for deals. Now, I’m not so sure how I feel. I certainly won’t be buying small press stuff through them, but then, I never did.

  2. Since I used to work in bookstores, I do like the bricks and mortar feel. When I lived in Detroit, I would go to several of them, because driving 20 minutes in Detroit felt normal.
    Out here in Shoreline, CT, driving 20 minutes to a half hour (and often longer) to get to a bookstore just isn’t as much fun. I’ll still go to bookstores when we’re traveling, or when they’re convenient, or when there’s an author signing… but in general, I’ll order online. Generally not amazon, though I have in the past checked them for deals. Now, I’m not so sure how I feel. I certainly won’t be buying small press stuff through them, but then, I never did.

  3. I also used to go into bookstores all the time, and now that there aren’t any really close or convenient, I tend to do all my book shopping online. If I know what I want, buying online doesn’t bother me. But, it does pretty much kill browsing, as there’s just no easy way to do that online. I do miss being able to scan shelves. I have often bought books in the past simply because of the cover.

  4. I also used to go into bookstores all the time, and now that there aren’t any really close or convenient, I tend to do all my book shopping online. If I know what I want, buying online doesn’t bother me. But, it does pretty much kill browsing, as there’s just no easy way to do that online. I do miss being able to scan shelves. I have often bought books in the past simply because of the cover.

  5. i like to pick up my books in person!
    btw, polaris/toronto trek is having a vampire theme this year. so this is a big *HINT* to come this year!! 😉

  6. i like to pick up my books in person!
    btw, polaris/toronto trek is having a vampire theme this year. so this is a big *HINT* to come this year!! 😉

Leave a Reply

