Ramblings on a Blustery Day…

As I watch various cars and trees being blown by my windows I thought I’d blather on a bit about what I’m up to lately. Yes, it *is* more interesting than watching CNN. Really. Trust me.

First, been attending a new Go club meeting at the Panera Bread in Washington, PA weekly. If you’ve never played the game, well… it’s a heck of an easy game to learn and impossible to master. I’ve been well-schooled three weeks in a row and look forward to actually putting up a battle at some point in the future. If there’s anyone interested and nearby, drop me a line – we’ve got some top-notch players who have no problems teaching the game and dealing with nits like me who forget the basics every now and then…

Started a new Pennwriters writing group in Uniontown at *their* Panera Bread – last Sundays of the month from 2-5ish, nothing more than a sit and gabfest. Don’t want to do critiques; don’t want to stress anyone out, just want to provide a nice comfortable forum to sit and gossip about writing, exchange ideas and just have a nice cuppa something warm while encouraging everyone to keep writing. Got a good turnout this first weekend, next meeting is Feb. 24th – contact me again if you’re interested. Membership in PW isn’t mandatory, but it sure helps get you access to cool workshops and conferences!

Writing-wise, just sold a short story to Dark Recesses Press for their next issue – I’ve sold to them before and they’re a fine market; just moving into print from PDF form. I’ll blurb more when the story comes out, but it’s a nice bit o’horror without the gore and all that.

Put aside a completed novel, Darkness Travels – I’m frankly sick of vampire novels and can’t look at it. Plus I do believe I’ve managed to write something totally bad in the way of screwing up the POV. Maybe I’ll try to salvage it in the future, but right now I’m working on the second draft of What God and Cats Know, my NaNoWriMo book that’s actually looking like it has legs. And, because I don’t have enough to do, I’m dipping my toes in the romance area by attempting a novel for Cerridwen Press/Ellora’s Cave Hunters For Hire series. All romance, no sex, or little of it since I’m not feeling that capable in the erotica area, but we’ll see where that goes. Open to all authors and figured I’d toss my hat into that ring. Along with any other bad cliches you can think of.

And the Wii… oh, I love our Wii. We finally got it working just over two weeks ago and I don’t think I’ve missed a day playing the Wii Sports that came with the game. Baseball, Tennis, Golf (not so much), Boxing (my grandfather would be proud!) and Bowling (which the Wookie likes best!). Along with a daily Fitness Test that just gets me laughing when I see the numbers bounce up and down like a Dow Market listing. But it’s exercise and if nothing else – writers NEED exercise. We spend too much time with our butts in a chair as it is. Looking forward to the release of Wii Fit in the future; a definite buy. The Wook’s eager to pick up a used copy of Spiderman: Friend or Foe since we rented a copy from the local video store and he liked it a lot.

So… I think that’s about it for updates. TSL is still selling at Fictionwise, though it seems to have dropped off the top 20 or so for Suspense/Thriller. Of course can’t tell anything until I get royalties, which from Fictionwise won’t be showing up until May. And I’ve learnt not to put much faith in trying to decipher numbers or make predictions on sales.

Now… back to my bowling!

10 thoughts on “Ramblings on a Blustery Day…

      • I’ll take you up on that one day when I’m in a more stable situation. I really want to move into a larger apartment, get settled, and start getting things together.
        This weekend I slept like a dead thing again, tho’. Soooo tired. Next week will be pretty busy, too. :/

      • I’ll take you up on that one day when I’m in a more stable situation. I really want to move into a larger apartment, get settled, and start getting things together.
        This weekend I slept like a dead thing again, tho’. Soooo tired. Next week will be pretty busy, too. :/

Leave a Reply

