sorry for being rather lax lately in the way of posts – it’s been a rather hectic month and not for any good reasons.

my husband’s mother passed away suddenly on Easter Sunday, leaving us not only with the gap in our family but also the problems dealing with the estate and whatnot… needless to say, all of our energy for April more or less has been going into emptying a house of three generations’ worth of content as well as trying to find a buyer.

and on the 20th my fuzzaloid friend of 17 years, Jazz (the white cat for those of you who met her) passed away here at home with us. She hated the vet, so we decided to let her stay here until the end. Very hard, as anyone who has been owned by an animal will tell you. She’s now back; sitting in an urn next to Razz (the tortoiseshell) in her own urn and we’re down to one fat Mitchell who seems to be getting over the fact that he’s alone for once.

and I’m racing to finish my second novel in time for the Pennwriters conference in just under two weeks on the weekend of the 19th. I have an appointment to pitch it to an agent there, but I have to FINISH it first, of course. And I thought I’d have more time, blah blah blah. So that’s going well and I’m on the last chapter today so I should be able to polish it up to something respectable. I hope.

AND I’ve started to send out ARCs for “The Second Line” to reviewers. Mundania Press doesn’t send them out for some reason, and I’m pretty sure they won’t want to send some to Canada – where I think I’ll have a good audience. The first batch are going to newspapers in Toronto and Pittsburgh in order to get possible a good review to coincide with the book release in August/September. Hey, nothing ventured nothing gained – right?

so… hope everyone who reads this is well and stays well, ’cause it only takes a second to toss everything you thought was solid out the window and turn your life upside down. Seriously.

more to follow… and let’s be careful out there, eh?

8 thoughts on “

  1. Sorry to hear of Jazz’s passing (my previous siamese lived just as long…and said goodbye in our arms).
    Good luck with your ARC adventure. It’s a lot of work. I know!

  2. Sorry to hear of Jazz’s passing (my previous siamese lived just as long…and said goodbye in our arms).
    Good luck with your ARC adventure. It’s a lot of work. I know!

  3. (((HUGGLES)))
    If you want my critical opinion of your story before you pitch it, you know where to email me. I’d love to carve out a block of time I can legitimately say I’m editing something that is not fanfic 😉
    And we’re trying to see if we can swing the cost of flying my sister out for Origins!

  4. (((HUGGLES)))
    If you want my critical opinion of your story before you pitch it, you know where to email me. I’d love to carve out a block of time I can legitimately say I’m editing something that is not fanfic 😉
    And we’re trying to see if we can swing the cost of flying my sister out for Origins!

  5. S. I’m sorry to hear of your losses. It must be especially rough to have two in a short period of time.
    Per the MIL’s house though, if you just want stuff to be gone without either paying or trying to be paid for it, Freecycle is a blessing. Check on yahoo.

  6. S. I’m sorry to hear of your losses. It must be especially rough to have two in a short period of time.
    Per the MIL’s house though, if you just want stuff to be gone without either paying or trying to be paid for it, Freecycle is a blessing. Check on yahoo.

Leave a Reply

