today’s a bit of a grumble about a problem that I don’t see being taken care of enough – childhood obesity.

now before you roll your eyes and flip away – I *WAS* a fat child. Heck, I’m a fat adult. I’m not going to hide it under the PC words like “obese”, “volumptous”, “overweight” or any of those nice words that make it less painful.

fat is fat.

having said that, I didn’t eat a lot of junk food growing up. I just happen to be predisposed to keeping every calorie close at hand and not doing much exercise, which is how you get fat. The details don’t really matter; the fact is that I have way more on my body frame that there should be. Period.

but my childhood, in a word, sucked. It was horrible being the fat girl in school. Kids can be more cruel than you think, especially when you’re female and your entire self-image can be destroyed with a few nasty words from either the boys OR the girls in your class.

which is why I get rather ANNOYED when I see obviously fat kids waddling around the mall with their parents, being handed Mrs. Field’s cookies for not throwing a temper tantrum or being bribed with food for not crying. I’m not talking about baby fat; I’m talking about kids who have the look of being afflicted with Down’s Syndrome; they have SO much fat on their faces and bodies. I’ve seen more of these than I care to remember and it’s become a crisis across the nation.

these kids are going to die early. That’s a fact. I’ve got high blood pressure, high cholesteral and I’m bordering on being diabetic. Sure, some of that runs in the family, but part of that is just my lifestyle. And while I can change that as an adult if I want to, the fact is that these kids are growing up with bad habits that are going to be hard to break as adults – if they live that long.

now, I know – how can I speak about kids when I’m not a mother, yatta yatta yatta. I can’t.

but I can tell you that when I see your fat child stuffing his face with two Big Macs at the local McDonald’s and he’s about as wide as he is tall I don’t think I’m out of line in pointing out that Social Services should be hauling you all in for counselling and yanking him off for a few months to Fat Camp. Because you’re going to bury your child in the near future and that’s totally avoidable.

we have a generation that’s basically imploding – instead of having to worry about how the Baby Boomers are going to be kept in comfort due to there being less taxpayers in the next generation, we’re going to be worrying about the number of children dying before they hit adulthood and the health problems that are going to cripple the country and the economy soon enough. Because that little fat kid isn’t going to just disappear and get slim on his own.

get off your butts, parents – and parent. Don’t give them that cookie and fer Gawd’s sake, don’t dismiss the facts. Get your kid out, get them active and stop giving them junk food.

’nuff said.

2 thoughts on “

  1. Amen Sister
    you are preaching to the converted here. as a school nurse in elementary schools let me tell you that what I see is what is happening out there. kids coming to school with hot fries, parents bringing in bags of mcdonalds and fries-the schools are trying to change things but you have to change in the home.

  2. Amen Sister
    you are preaching to the converted here. as a school nurse in elementary schools let me tell you that what I see is what is happening out there. kids coming to school with hot fries, parents bringing in bags of mcdonalds and fries-the schools are trying to change things but you have to change in the home.

Leave a Reply

