a moment of silence…

for old Betsy.

seems her power board (whatever THAT is…) is wonky and it’ll cost about three hundred to fix. I’m darned sure that the Wookie would much rather just buy me a new one for about five (with rebates) that we saw at Best Buy last weekend.

*sighs*

part of me is thrilled beyond belief at the idea of getting a NEW laptop which may actually play videos and the like, but part of me is in mourning. We’re getting the old girl back and she’s still bootable and usable, but I can’t work on something that may have the power cut out at any time. I mean, seriously. (to quote Motor Ed).

so… the Wookie’s going to pick her up after work and I’ll probably keep her here as an extra and keep stripping stuff off her. I got all the basics in an emergency dump, but I’ll have to go back and grab more silly extra files that I didn’t bother to get because I just didn’t know how stable the system was. She’ll be a good backup in case of dire emergency, and I do mean dire…

but the Scot in me is asking if I can survive without a laptop. Lord, I’m a cheap bugger when I get going.

πŸ˜›

having said that, I’m sure the Wookie will insist on a new laptop.

and, if nothing else, I’m submissive to my husband.

*snorts*

and if you believe that, please send me a hundred dollars and I’ll send you the lease to a nice tower in Toronto I happen to be owner of.

πŸ˜€

10 thoughts on “a moment of silence…

  1. *moment of silence*
    Poor Betsy.
    I like new πŸ™‚ I couldn’t rely on my other computer at all..shutting off on me out of the blue…locking files…deleting files…the damn thing had a mind of its own. Go for new πŸ™‚
    lol.

  2. *moment of silence*
    Poor Betsy.
    I like new πŸ™‚ I couldn’t rely on my other computer at all..shutting off on me out of the blue…locking files…deleting files…the damn thing had a mind of its own. Go for new πŸ™‚
    lol.

  3. *silent moment*
    Sniff.
    ah well … she is still your backup, but think of the fun new things you can do with your new laptop!
    and I so understand about not surviving without one! πŸ™‚

  4. *silent moment*
    Sniff.
    ah well … she is still your backup, but think of the fun new things you can do with your new laptop!
    and I so understand about not surviving without one! πŸ™‚

  5. Go for the new laptop. You might find a used one cheaper, but I think it’d be worth the extra money for better equipment with no previous mileage on it. (My Scottish and English ancestors are shocked, but the Irish and French ancestors cheer this decision.) Go for it!

  6. Go for the new laptop. You might find a used one cheaper, but I think it’d be worth the extra money for better equipment with no previous mileage on it. (My Scottish and English ancestors are shocked, but the Irish and French ancestors cheer this decision.) Go for it!

Leave a Reply

