it’s funny, but I’ve developed a bit of a problem (for lack of a better word) with choosing articles for Constant Content and WriteForCash.

believe it or not I don’t feel comfortable with writing about certain things that I just know ain’t in my area, so to speak. Like herbal supplements for high blood pressure or aromatherapy in bath salts and so forth… I did an article on melatonin and children and was frantically doing research before trying to lay down a neutral report, even tho the question was whether it was good to give to kids or not.

I just don’t feel comfortable doing such articles. Now, birdbaths; hummingbird feeders, replica swords and blood pressure monitors – I’m all over that.

but it just don’t sit right with me to do articles that are a bit… dunno, way out of my league medical-wise. And the thought that someone might take them as gospel when they’re only based on research and not actual experience frightens me to no end.

*shrug*

strangeness abounds in my world.

again.

heh, heh.

4 thoughts on “

  1. Sounds to me like a solution might be to interview people who have had experience with the topics, if you can find them. That way you can give pros and cons from their viewpoints.

    • well, WFC really doesn’t want you to do that – it’s only a short fluff piece of under 1200 words and if you start quoting peeps you get way over that count by the time you get the topic out there and you risk dating the quoter as well.
      I just avoid the topics like “Is *** safe for kids?” – I mean, *I* may agree with the research and all, but I’d hate for someone to read the article and conclude that they should as well without doing more of their own research, ya know?
      I’m getting so picky in me old age.
      and all for kat kibble.
      😛

  2. Sounds to me like a solution might be to interview people who have had experience with the topics, if you can find them. That way you can give pros and cons from their viewpoints.

    • well, WFC really doesn’t want you to do that – it’s only a short fluff piece of under 1200 words and if you start quoting peeps you get way over that count by the time you get the topic out there and you risk dating the quoter as well.
      I just avoid the topics like “Is *** safe for kids?” – I mean, *I* may agree with the research and all, but I’d hate for someone to read the article and conclude that they should as well without doing more of their own research, ya know?
      I’m getting so picky in me old age.
      and all for kat kibble.
      😛

Leave a Reply

