well, another day… another annoyance.

first, my flash fiction is up at The Harrow – Breaking Free, if you have a few minutes and want something low-carb and fat-free.

which is nice.

a rejection of another story within three hours of submitting it electronically, however, is both nice and not so nice.

I’m taking wee solace in the writer having the odd title of “Art director / assistant editor / artist” – which tells me that it’s a small ‘zine and that this nit didn’t really understand what she was reading. I mean, getting upset ’cause I didn’t kill off the main character and feeling “cheated” that he survived at the end makes me wonder.

grr.

add to that the fact that I’ve already done a bit of a rewrite on said short story to make it more “believable” and I’m still getting comments like that.

*sighs*

makes me wonder what the market is looking for, other than dark, dark horror and fantasy -that seems to be what everyone’s looking for. Meanwhile, I do Bradbury-type (Lord, I hope so!) stories that have redemption in them. At times. You know what I mean. Right?

bleah.

head still achy from storm sitting overhead and grumpy as all heck now.

quick, to the choco-cave!

4 thoughts on “

  1. Cool! Enjoyed it. Keep them coming!
    One thing… it should actually be “concrete crypt” not “cement crypt.” Cement, I was corrected recently, is an ingredient of concrete. It is nothing by itself. You can’t have a cement walkway, etc. I used the two words interchangeably for so long until someone finally caught me on it and I looked them up!
    Feel better!
    P.S. ok, that’s a weird rejection…. cheated because the main character lived? eh? Granted, I haven’t read the story, but really!

  2. Cool! Enjoyed it. Keep them coming!
    One thing… it should actually be “concrete crypt” not “cement crypt.” Cement, I was corrected recently, is an ingredient of concrete. It is nothing by itself. You can’t have a cement walkway, etc. I used the two words interchangeably for so long until someone finally caught me on it and I looked them up!
    Feel better!
    P.S. ok, that’s a weird rejection…. cheated because the main character lived? eh? Granted, I haven’t read the story, but really!

Leave a Reply

