argh.

I hate eBay at times.

even though I’ve found some great deals, there’s still jerks out there.

uptownattic is one.

see, about a month ago I spot an autographed poster of The Incredibles online – it’s the one of the family, cool as all getout and with EIGHT autographs to boot. Sweet pic and it’s “only” 40 bucks. So we slap it down, pay ten bucks for shipping and sit back…

November 24th, we bought and paid.

it just arrived today.

yep, after TWO emails asking them where the frelling poster was and no response, it shows up.

*pregnant pause*

AND IT’S THE WRONG FRELLING PICTURE!!!

Yes, it’s the Incredibles, thank Gawd – but not the family portrait. It’s the one with Mr. Incredible jumping into the screen by himself – it’s nice and autographed and all that and probably a bit better since you can see the signatures a bit brighter on the paper, but it’s NOT WHAT I ORDERED.

needless to say I left the company negative feedback, for what it’s worth. I’m not even going to try and get it exchanged since a surfing of their auctions shows that this particular variation never comes up on their auctions – so I think that everyone who’s ordering one with the family pose is getting this one because they ran out or some such idiot excuse.

and considering they never answered me back, I sure as heck ain’t going to try and get it exchanged. Got it in a frame and now in the living room looking darned good, even with the mistake.

jerks.

uptownattic – don’t buy from them on eBay, folks… they’ve got a thousand movie posters and the like, XF and all that stuff – but don’t trust them a whit.

’nuff said.

12 thoughts on “argh.

  1. While I’m happy you like the poster you received…I don’t blame you for being down right pissed about it being the wrong one! That’s just bad business. If anything they should let you know that a poster is out and if you’d ‘like’ a different one in exchange. When you get your hopes up for something…and then it doesn’t come through…it’s an unsettling feeling.
    I give a big ass BOOT to uptownattic. Which sounds like downtownsewage to me! Growling with you!

  2. While I’m happy you like the poster you received…I don’t blame you for being down right pissed about it being the wrong one! That’s just bad business. If anything they should let you know that a poster is out and if you’d ‘like’ a different one in exchange. When you get your hopes up for something…and then it doesn’t come through…it’s an unsettling feeling.
    I give a big ass BOOT to uptownattic. Which sounds like downtownsewage to me! Growling with you!

  3. Oh, that sucks. I’d be pretty pissed, although like you said at least it’s something close to what you bought. But still, it was totally dishonest of them to send you something other than you ordered without even the opportunity to exchange it or get your money back.
    I just had my first eBay buying experience last week. Here’s crossing my fingers that it turns out a little better when the package arrives. ::gulp::

  4. Oh, that sucks. I’d be pretty pissed, although like you said at least it’s something close to what you bought. But still, it was totally dishonest of them to send you something other than you ordered without even the opportunity to exchange it or get your money back.
    I just had my first eBay buying experience last week. Here’s crossing my fingers that it turns out a little better when the package arrives. ::gulp::

  5. That’s lousy!!
    I always thoroughly check the feedback section for the sellers, although it doesn’t always help. I was doing great on ebay, then all of a sudden, I had two experiences in a row where I never received the items I had purchased and the sellers never responded and then one even vanished off of ebay completely. ARGH! (Visa was very nice about refunding me when I called them, btw. Lady said it happened all the time. Yikes!)
    Also – read the fine print. My dad buys minerals off ebay, and he caught one where the fine print said “the mineral you will receive is similar to the one in the picture.”
    Cheers!
    All in all though, ebay’s still a great place.

    • oh, I’ve done over 300 buys/sells on eBay and love it – the Wookie and I find the greatest stuff…
      it was just after we paid promptly within hours for this poster and the lack of communication… and the jerks sent it out on December 7, TWO WEEKS after the end of the auction.
      and then the wrong poster? I did look at their auctions and did not see this variation, so I figure someone in their idiot department said something like “It’s the same movie, so just get the others signed and we’ll ship those”; but I do like the family pic.
      *shrug*
      best you can do is leave a negative, which I hate to do…
      still, usually eBay rocks!
      🙂

      • I must be dealing with bad sellers then – most of the stuff I’ve bought (cds, books) doesn’t arrive for at least a month after the close of the auction. I thought that was normal. If it’s not, if those people are supposed to be shipping right after they receive my payment, then I’ve been a complete fool and should have been giving them negative feedback!! Argh!

      • wow… well, it depends on where you are, to be fair. And I rarely give negative feedback, usually only if they don’t pay – in this case, not only did they not respond to my emails asking where the bleep was my poster, it’s the WRONG poster…
        I would have gone neutral if it had been the right one and just commented on the lack of communication and the length of time for the poster to arrive…

  6. That’s lousy!!
    I always thoroughly check the feedback section for the sellers, although it doesn’t always help. I was doing great on ebay, then all of a sudden, I had two experiences in a row where I never received the items I had purchased and the sellers never responded and then one even vanished off of ebay completely. ARGH! (Visa was very nice about refunding me when I called them, btw. Lady said it happened all the time. Yikes!)
    Also – read the fine print. My dad buys minerals off ebay, and he caught one where the fine print said “the mineral you will receive is similar to the one in the picture.”
    Cheers!
    All in all though, ebay’s still a great place.

    • oh, I’ve done over 300 buys/sells on eBay and love it – the Wookie and I find the greatest stuff…
      it was just after we paid promptly within hours for this poster and the lack of communication… and the jerks sent it out on December 7, TWO WEEKS after the end of the auction.
      and then the wrong poster? I did look at their auctions and did not see this variation, so I figure someone in their idiot department said something like “It’s the same movie, so just get the others signed and we’ll ship those”; but I do like the family pic.
      *shrug*
      best you can do is leave a negative, which I hate to do…
      still, usually eBay rocks!
      🙂

      • I must be dealing with bad sellers then – most of the stuff I’ve bought (cds, books) doesn’t arrive for at least a month after the close of the auction. I thought that was normal. If it’s not, if those people are supposed to be shipping right after they receive my payment, then I’ve been a complete fool and should have been giving them negative feedback!! Argh!

      • wow… well, it depends on where you are, to be fair. And I rarely give negative feedback, usually only if they don’t pay – in this case, not only did they not respond to my emails asking where the bleep was my poster, it’s the WRONG poster…
        I would have gone neutral if it had been the right one and just commented on the lack of communication and the length of time for the poster to arrive…

Leave a Reply

