why I’m grumpy…

I’m so tired of this US election that I’m literally running out of the room every time I see a commercial come on; either side.

I can’t believe that 90% of the “world news” each and every evening is about the election. As if nothing else of importance happened in the world except which states got visited today and who’s zooming who in the polls. Really.

I read a post where a LJ was ratted out to the Secret Service for a post that supposedly threatened Bush – she was nice and removed it and had the visit and did well and no problem there and she’s not having much of a problem with it, but obviously some are ranting about the entire Fascist World that dares to have agents knock on her door.

news flash – I think it’s a Good Thing.

read this, first: http://www.wftv.com/news/3860693/detail.html

when you have people trying to RUN OVER officials running for office and their supporters, you have to understand that everyone in law enforcement is chewing their nails down to the bone, literally, over this election. Every single one is praying that nothing happens to Kerry or Edwards or Bush or Cheney because no matter what happens it’ll come back to be blamed on their agency by the news media and the general public; because that’s where the buck stops these days.

yes, I know she DID NOT mean what she said and it was a rant much like everyone else’s been posting and saying and prattling on the phone, but someone reported it – someone, obviously, with too much free time on their hands and who lives to troll through entries to see who’s saying what. But once that complaint went into the authorities, they had to react – it’s their JOB, folks.

and if I went off on a rant about Kerry, I’d expect them to show up here. See, they’re not just there to protect the Republicans, folks. They’re there to take care of everyone.

Because their careers last longer than the administeration, silly. See, when a new president is elected they don’t FIRE all the old Secret Service agents and all the FBI agents and all the CIA agents. They keep on working and just change the names on their letterheads. Really. Honestly.

so they don’t care if they’re protecting Clinton or Bush or Kerry or Cheney or Carter – they all get the same attention because they all deserve protection from the whackos out there that feel that power comes from the barrel of a gun and aren’t afraid to try and thwart the democratic process.

now it’s kinda obvious that if you really intended to hurt anyone, the last thing you would do is post about it – duh. But once the complaint goes in, the system kicks into gear and you can’t stop it by just saying “oh, I like that girl.” – so they went, they talked to her and found out she had no intention of doing anything, as all of us knew.

but I’m sure there’ll be some sort of Patriot Act ranting going on for days as people sigh and moan about the massive raids and attacks and everything that seemingly is going on without any newspapers covering it. Funny how the networks can keep digging up news about Bush’s National Guard experience but don’t bother covering these supposed raids that keep on happening almost hourly, from what I’m seeing.

which, of course, leads to a post I got from my writer’s group today about some romance writer who was raided under the Patriot Act for reseaching Cambodia for her newest book – even though she’s “multi-published” and belongs to the Romance Writers Association and is very wellknown, I can’t find any references to it online via Google other than one blog and an “interview” on one website where she won’t give her name, since her lawyers are dealing with it.

maybe I’m just too naive and Canadian, but you’d think that CNN would be all over this. Or MSNBC. or CBS. Or… well, you get my point. Heck, even the BBC would thrill to get news like this.

but, of course, the ranting has started and the moaning and weeping about how awful this society is and how it’s all going to be better if Kerry wins next week.

yah.

right.

news flash, folks – the sun shall rise on the day after the election and if Kerry wins…

nothing will change.

really.

who in their right mind thinks that he’s going to take the Oath of Office and wave a magic wand and do all those things he’s been promising? He may have the best of intentions, but ask any Canadian about Jean Chretien’s promise to scrap the GST and what happened once he got into office (and stayed there for about twenty years!)

nothing will change. The troops will still be in Iraq and there will still be terrorists looking to take out Americans just because they’re American.

as it stands now, if I were closer to the border I’d be hiding for the next week in me mom’s basement watching “Finding Nemo” and laughing over Dory.

ranting over.

btw, book just capped 70,000 words. I’m thrilled. Now just to sell the darned thing.

πŸ˜›

14 thoughts on “why I’m grumpy…

  1. Yeah, but we all want to dream that something might change for the better…because if it doesn,’t, that’s very depressing. And you are of course right that the SS was doing their job. Nobody’s really arguing that they weren’t are they? I just think that the atmosphere in the country has taken an ugly turn (and yes, I do think the Patriot Act is a manifestation of that) and that has allowed a kind of McCarthyesque mindset to set in for some people.

      • well, I think that what happened was that right after 9/11 everyone wanted to know we were safe – and we handed the keys to the car over to the President who was also in a bit of a state, considering he had just been elected. There weren’t any plans on how to handle this anywhere in the archives, I think.
        sure, it’s been rough on some people, but I think the ones going around screaming “facism” have NO idea what it’s really like to live under a truly Fascist country… nor maybe, just maybe, how many lives have been saved or plots stopped by such raids by Secret Service agents or the FBI or CIA. It’s easy to hear about the failures and point fingers at them for 9/11 – but when they do their jobs right and save lives, no one hears about it. Not good press.
        is the Patriot Act flawed? Sure… but Bush didn’t take the Towers down. And the representatives who drafted and voted it in (including some Democrats, I would think) were reacting with their hearts, not their minds. Will it be fixed? Sure – but I still doubt that if Kerry wins that he’ll cancel all the legislation that’s been passed for the past four years; transport all the troops out of Iraq; get the UN to put troops in (when they’re too afraid to even help the Sudan) and make sure I can dash across the border for cheap Canadian drugs (which aren’t, in my case, cheaper.)
        he’ll take charge, assess the situation and nothing will change for months, if not years. Mark my words, nothing will change other than the type of promises and the excuses on why they can’t be kept. It’s the way all politicians react.
        but what am I saying? All Republicans are evil Satan-worshippers who feed poor black kids to sharks off their yachts while Democrats are smiling while they strum their angel harps of purity…
        now there’s a generality.
        πŸ™‚

      • It’s so funny to see how differently people “read” the events around 9/11. I know people on both sides of the political ‘fence’ but I don’t know any of them who think that things were as simplistic as any one agency (or administration) being responsible for what happened.
        I’ll just leave that last paragraph alone. πŸ˜›

  2. Yeah, but we all want to dream that something might change for the better…because if it doesn,’t, that’s very depressing. And you are of course right that the SS was doing their job. Nobody’s really arguing that they weren’t are they? I just think that the atmosphere in the country has taken an ugly turn (and yes, I do think the Patriot Act is a manifestation of that) and that has allowed a kind of McCarthyesque mindset to set in for some people.

      • well, I think that what happened was that right after 9/11 everyone wanted to know we were safe – and we handed the keys to the car over to the President who was also in a bit of a state, considering he had just been elected. There weren’t any plans on how to handle this anywhere in the archives, I think.
        sure, it’s been rough on some people, but I think the ones going around screaming “facism” have NO idea what it’s really like to live under a truly Fascist country… nor maybe, just maybe, how many lives have been saved or plots stopped by such raids by Secret Service agents or the FBI or CIA. It’s easy to hear about the failures and point fingers at them for 9/11 – but when they do their jobs right and save lives, no one hears about it. Not good press.
        is the Patriot Act flawed? Sure… but Bush didn’t take the Towers down. And the representatives who drafted and voted it in (including some Democrats, I would think) were reacting with their hearts, not their minds. Will it be fixed? Sure – but I still doubt that if Kerry wins that he’ll cancel all the legislation that’s been passed for the past four years; transport all the troops out of Iraq; get the UN to put troops in (when they’re too afraid to even help the Sudan) and make sure I can dash across the border for cheap Canadian drugs (which aren’t, in my case, cheaper.)
        he’ll take charge, assess the situation and nothing will change for months, if not years. Mark my words, nothing will change other than the type of promises and the excuses on why they can’t be kept. It’s the way all politicians react.
        but what am I saying? All Republicans are evil Satan-worshippers who feed poor black kids to sharks off their yachts while Democrats are smiling while they strum their angel harps of purity…
        now there’s a generality.
        πŸ™‚

      • It’s so funny to see how differently people “read” the events around 9/11. I know people on both sides of the political ‘fence’ but I don’t know any of them who think that things were as simplistic as any one agency (or administration) being responsible for what happened.
        I’ll just leave that last paragraph alone. πŸ˜›

  3. Believe it or not, my Editing class the other day turned into a Bush vs. Kerry discussion, and I AM AUSTRALIAN AND LIVE IN AUSTRALIA. That, to my mind, makes it just a teensy bit irrelevant.
    I’ve started putting my notes on the book formerly known as ChocoVamp (must try and remember to remember the new title, eh?), but the fact that I spent Tuesday panicking over my essays one last time meant that I didn’t get as much done as I wanted to. How soon did you want it back?

      • Oh, it’s okay, classes have finished now and my first (of two) exam isn’t until the 16th of November, so I should have time. I’m not going to nitpick your English because I’m good with Australian English spelling foibles but not so much with American or Canadian, so I’ll just do basic stuff with grammar and punctuation, and whatever I can think of to suggest about the story as a whole on top of that.

  4. Believe it or not, my Editing class the other day turned into a Bush vs. Kerry discussion, and I AM AUSTRALIAN AND LIVE IN AUSTRALIA. That, to my mind, makes it just a teensy bit irrelevant.
    I’ve started putting my notes on the book formerly known as ChocoVamp (must try and remember to remember the new title, eh?), but the fact that I spent Tuesday panicking over my essays one last time meant that I didn’t get as much done as I wanted to. How soon did you want it back?

      • Oh, it’s okay, classes have finished now and my first (of two) exam isn’t until the 16th of November, so I should have time. I’m not going to nitpick your English because I’m good with Australian English spelling foibles but not so much with American or Canadian, so I’ll just do basic stuff with grammar and punctuation, and whatever I can think of to suggest about the story as a whole on top of that.

Leave a Reply

