pardon me for a moment while I vent.

I mailed a package to my mother in Barrie, Ontario on July 3 of this month. It STILL hasn’t arrived, three weeks after I sent it. Usually it takes only TWO weeks for a package to get up there, since I also mailed a package to my sister in a city further NORTH of my mother on July 12th and she got hers on Friday.

I am SO annoyed right now. Canada Post has managed to again lose a package/letter I’ve sent to her. I mailed a Valentine’s day card with $20 in it and it got stolen by a thief who Canada Post caught – of course, they didn’t refund the money and couldn’t tell me if they had caught the same thief, but since it was in the papers I figured that one out. But no proof, no harm no foul, right?

This was a box of granola bars and candy – mom’s on a low income and I like to send up goodies to her to help out. Of course this time I also included another bit of cash to help, which means some bleeping Canada Post union jerk in Barrie is munching on my mom’s granola bars right now while fondling a US $20 bill and laughing his head off. I am SO tired and fed up with these overpaid jerks that it’s not funny.

But what’s that you say? Register the package? Well, folks – news flash here – registering anything in the VERY efficient USPS works only to the BORDER and then it disappears into the black hole that is Canada Post. No matter if you pay for Air post, fast post, pony express, it all gets to the border and stops there and is shunted into the monster’s maw because there’s no deal with Canada Post to register them for cross-border transit. So why toss your money away?

I am SO bleeping annoyed right now that if I had my real transit card I’d be on a bus to Barrie and the Gateway station there to throw a fit the size of Missouri. How’s that for American? They don’t steal the Stargate tape I sent to my sister; they don’t steal the Neopets I mailed to my niece; they don’t steal the bleeping Thomas Tank stuff for my nephew, they steal FRICKING GRANOLA BARS AND BRIDGE MIX FOR MY MOTHER!!!

ARRRRGGGGHHHH!!!!!

and then I CALL the buggers using the special long distance number (since it’s NOT toll free from here) and get a nice Quebecois who tells me that they can’t track either the customs number from the form I filled out down here or the package itself. He transfers me to Canada Customs and a dead phone line. I call Canada Customs and find out that they can’t do a thing for me; other than note that packages can take 3-5 WEEKS to get from here to there, generically.

I swear, if I were a violent person…. America is rubbing off on me more than I know.

It’s the frustration of knowing that Canada, my home and native land, is rapidly becoming a cesspool worthy of Third World Status. I shouldn’t have to UPS my parcels up there to make sure they don’t get ripped open and items stolen; I shouldn’t have to pretend that I’m calling from a distant land when I can DRIVE up there in eight hours and carry the package myself.

the Wookie, god bless him, is offering to repack another box this weekend and we’ll UPS it up to mom.

I am SO bleeping annoyed right now that it defies description. Imagine your worst day and then add on banging your thumb with a hammer.

Canada Post, you’ve done me wrong. Again. And I am NOT happy. Tell that to your Customer service overpaid union workers when they get my complaint note. And when you ask for a fricking raise.

rant out.

grr.

4 thoughts on “

  1. oh girl, i can so relate. we lived in toronto for 2 years and it took longer for a letter to go across the street in canada than it did to send a letter my mother in law in florida.
    I hope that they manage to find your package-and than you can get the stuff to your mum okay.

  2. oh girl, i can so relate. we lived in toronto for 2 years and it took longer for a letter to go across the street in canada than it did to send a letter my mother in law in florida.
    I hope that they manage to find your package-and than you can get the stuff to your mum okay.

Leave a Reply

