Duct Tape

Duct tape may be what’s holding the universe together, but I don’t want it holding my PIPES together, which is what the plumber found yesterday.

eek.

so now I’m waiting for them to show up with machines and fun toys to dig up the hand-installed pipe to the septic tank and then reinstall it all, to the fine song of 1500 dollars.

double eek.

the Wookie, needless to say, was tossing a major fit when he looked down in the pit and saw that the previous homeowner had not only used duct tape to secure the PVC pipe from the actual pipes inside the house to the “real” tank inlet, but also had managed to angle it uphill – as I told the workman I may be no plumber, but even I can figure out that’s not a Good Thing.

bah.

the only saving grace that I think kept the Wook from blowing a vein was that I pointed out the importance not only of getting it fixed now, but getting it fixed before something bad happened – like the duct tape giving way totally. As it was now, not only is there a helluva blockage it’s also leaking around the tape.

of course, he now wants to hunt down the surviving sons of the homeowner and strangle them – to which I pointed out that they probably didn’t help Dad do this work (he’s departed this mortal coil, etc.) and the workman noted that there was no codes back then dictating this sort of work. And given that our previous owner managed to put a deck on with a flat roof, encouraging it to suck and hold water like a sponge…

well, I’m glad it’s getting fixed now instead of later.

otoh, can someone (Sara…) explain to me while I only watched a wee bit of Stargate The Movie last night I ended up with erotic dreams this morning with James Spade AND Michael Shanks together in a morphing Daniel Jackson?

😀

the Lord works in mysterious ways…

*sniggle*

as for the actual SHOW… can’t say that I’m unhappy with what I’m hearing about Lost City, both parts – and I’m really, REALLY glad that the writers have at least understood the idea of continuity and don’t mind drawing on the past to write the future episodes… and not in a tacky, clip show type of way where we recycle old eps, a la Enterprise at times…

Kinsey is such a slimy worm, btw.

and for those of you who play NeverWinterNights – I’m hanging out as a Bard in the Mithral Hammer server – the Wookie’s got a nasty Monk that’s keeping him sane during all this.

now, time to go get a cuppa something hot and wait for the plumbers to arrive!

oh, joy!

😛

2 thoughts on “Duct Tape

  1. Hey, who am I to explain Spaderesque/Shankesque morphing dreams? I have ’em all the time, without watching the movie/episodes! (And yes, I watched a bit last night, until the siblings decided Sci Fi isn’t for them. Sigh. Even the power of Daniel can’t win them over)
    Still, I’m home today, my Hamlet class was canceled, so I’m watching the Outer Limits (new ones) on Sci Fi and realizing that a heck of a lot of actors are guesting. Two eps down and I’ve found: the girl from the MS Mary Higgins Clark movie, Niles from Fraiser, Natasha Henstrige, Rhade and TR from Andromeda, Teri Hatcher’s Ex Husband (Jon Tenny), Mrs. Scully and Narim. Yep, Narim. It’s been a fun afternoon and I’m only two eps in.
    I’m wondering how I lived without Sci Fi. I seriously think, with the exception of Alias, all my shows are Sci Fi. Can I like Friends or something? No. Not that I’m complaining.
    Sigh.

  2. Hey, who am I to explain Spaderesque/Shankesque morphing dreams? I have ’em all the time, without watching the movie/episodes! (And yes, I watched a bit last night, until the siblings decided Sci Fi isn’t for them. Sigh. Even the power of Daniel can’t win them over)
    Still, I’m home today, my Hamlet class was canceled, so I’m watching the Outer Limits (new ones) on Sci Fi and realizing that a heck of a lot of actors are guesting. Two eps down and I’ve found: the girl from the MS Mary Higgins Clark movie, Niles from Fraiser, Natasha Henstrige, Rhade and TR from Andromeda, Teri Hatcher’s Ex Husband (Jon Tenny), Mrs. Scully and Narim. Yep, Narim. It’s been a fun afternoon and I’m only two eps in.
    I’m wondering how I lived without Sci Fi. I seriously think, with the exception of Alias, all my shows are Sci Fi. Can I like Friends or something? No. Not that I’m complaining.
    Sigh.

Leave a Reply

