The Lord giveth…

and He taketh – but in a nice, friendly way…

what a day.

first I get a quick response back from an online magazine to which I had sent one of my older sci-fi stories – a nice NO, but still a NO… but a great letter with discussion about how the story wasn’t as good as it could be and I wrote back telling them how I appreciated that – hey, they didn’t have to do it at all…

and of course, looking over the rejection email they have a LOT of good points, so I can’t complain. Maybe I”ll work on another rewrite of that one soon, but it’s been out there a bit and I think I need to figure out if the rejections mean it’s just not good. Not that I can’t write crap, but knowing when to shoot the beast is a Good Thing.

then I went to get my snail mail. As in, the mailbox across the ash-filled street.

w00t!

Fifty Something Magazine accepted my Hockey Night story!!!

no payment yet and that’s gonna be negotiated on publication (not that I expected anything different, to be fair) but it’s in their files and probably going to be out within six months or so…

double w00t!!!

sure, it’s not going to be much – maybe fifty bucks if I’m lucky, but it’s a credit and one I can put up on my webpage and certainly add to my writing credits… the Wookie and Sara gave great beta on the article, so she gets a grand old Dragon hug and the Wookie… well, you just never mind what he gets…

πŸ˜‰

so…. I may not be rich, but it’s coming along slowly but surely…

now all I need to do is survive Stargate SG-1 for the next few weeks… eek!

we now return you to your regular sessions of “What the Heck is She babbling About now?”

πŸ˜€

6 thoughts on “The Lord giveth…

  1. Yay for you! My goal for this summer is to polish three of my short stories and send them out into the publishing world. How encouraging it is to hear of a friend being published.

  2. Yay for you! My goal for this summer is to polish three of my short stories and send them out into the publishing world. How encouraging it is to hear of a friend being published.

Leave a Reply

